Christmas Day

It’s a beautiful day. Yes, it’s…

raining. But who cares? I love rain. I love the grey clouds and the misty romantic feel it all has . I love the cleansing rain drops in my hair and on my face. I love the renewal it represents. Not the washing of away of sins no, but the cleansing of the earth and in some ways the metaphorical cleansing of the mind. So much trash accumulates there thru the day. Watching the rain fall puts me in sort of a zen state-my mind empties itself and I feel peaceful.

Paul woke me up with a kiss this morning. It was very sweet. We exchanged gifts. We’re broke again this year so he’s giving me the same as last year-foot/back rubs and this year, at my request, he added lots of cuddles. I’m giving him foot scratches and spaghetti/meat balls once a month this year. It doesn’t sound like a lot but let me tell you he gives a mighty good massage. I told him if he loses his job he could become a masseuse. Anyway, I like these gifts, no guessing if the person will like it and no worries about spending money. It has the added benefit of just spending time together.

Never the less, I’ll be so glad to get out of debt. Just a year to go. If we’re good, it may be sooner.

Paul told me I couldn’t experiment on the turkey this year but I’m bored, bored, bored with the same thing. So, I’m ignoring him. Hopefully that won’t be a mistake. Here is the turkey recipe I’m using this year:

Ingredients

 1      whole 12 to 14 pound turkey

2      1/2 cup rosemary sprigs, fresh

3      1/2 cup sage leaves, fresh

4      1 apple, quartered

5      1 stalk celery, halved

6      1 onion, halved

7      1/2 cup butter, melted

 Preparation:

 Remove giblets and neck from turkey; reserve for other uses or use to make broth for gravy if desired. Rinse turkey with cold water and pat dry.

 Loosen skin from the turkey breast a bit not totally detaching. Place rosemary and sage under skin then smooth skin over herbs and back into place.

 Place apple, celery, and onion into the neck cavity. Place the turkey, breast side up, on a rack in a shallow roasting pan; brush with melted butter. Cover turkey loosely with a piece of aluminum foil.

 Bake at 325° until meat thermometer in the thickest part of the thigh registers about 180° F. The turkey will take about 3 to 4 1/2 hours, depending on size and oven. Remove turkey and let stand 15 minutes before carving. Serve with gravy.

Here’s to no burnt potatoes and not setting the stove on fire this year.

Lol.

Hey, it makes life interesting!

Merry Christmas, y’all!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Holly
    Dec 26, 2009 @ 15:55:46

    Well, its not a holiday unless there is a fire. Better luck in 2010. HeHe

    Reply

  2. curiocat
    Dec 26, 2009 @ 18:06:38

    Lol. Brat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.