Crimson and Clover

I was just saying to someone my goal is to write

a pefect first draft. Crimson and Clover is a great example of why perfect isn’t always desirable.

What I find amazing is the 1968 record was not a final version, it was just a rough cut. Tommy James played it for some radio people who taped it and put it on the air without telling him. I wonder if he’d had a chance to “smooth” it out if the results would have been the same? 

1968. I have no clue what state I was living in at the time-I suppose I should ask. Had to be either Maryland or Tennessee. Possibly Florida?

The first video is the original 1968 I grew up with and actually still have the 45. How’s that for aging?  The second I believe maybe the from the 1991 CD version. I can certainly hear the differences between the two. The video is interesting and since I refuse to choose between the two, I’m putting up both.

I was curious as to the meaning behind Crimson and Clover so I did some looking up. Tommy James explains the origin of the song on Song Facts:

http://www.songfacts.com/detail.php?id=1883

Here’s what Wiki had to say:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crimson_and_Clover

Joan Jett also has a pretty good version but I like the original best.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth Baker
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 16:40:48

    Butch was in navy boot camp when that son was a radio hit and I was in my final year of high school cruising griffith park in California. 1969 they played that son Crimson & Clover over and over again till every teenage knew it by heart as we wore or hippy string jackets and leather floppy hats and hip hugger jeans with bell bottoms. It was a sweet time for me as a teen, but a worrysome time because the Vietnam War was raging and our American soldiers were dying right and left. Butch went over to Vietnam in 1969 and I thought the war would go on forever.

    Lots of memories of that hippy period in California back then.

    Reply

  2. Tracey
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 11:08:12

    Mother,
    Here are some inspirational quotes:

    There is no happiness except in the realization that we have accomplished something.
    Henry Ford

    It is not enough to take steps which may some day lead to a goal; each step must be itself a goal and a step likewise.
    Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

    Winning isn’t everything, but wanting to win is.
    Vince Lombardi

    A wise man will make more opportunities than he finds.
    Francis Bacon

    It was a high counsel that I once heard given to a young person, “Always do what you are afraid to do.”
    Ralph Waldo Emerson

    The only way of finding the limits of the possible is by going beyond them into the impossible.
    Arthur C. Clarke

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.