Tsunami Cancelled?

How do you cancel a tsunami?

I mean I’m glad it didn’t happen but how could they get it so wrong? According to the news when we left to go shopping the waters were receding and the ocean color had changed and it was expected to begin anytime so what happened? When we got back home I flipped the news back on…it was cancelled. All that adrenaline surging and no disaster to fight off. There will either be lots of bar fights tonight or lots of babies in about nine months. Maybe both.

Wake Forest and North Carolina played today. It was a pretty even game up until the last ten min and then Paul started hollering it was time for Wake Forest to go home because they were suddenly ten points behind. They never did regain their momentum and lost by ten points. I have a soft spot for them so I have to admit I was hoping they would win. The girls went to basketball camp there a couple of years and Holly has a picture with Tim Duncan.  Paul didn’t really care who won, he just enjoyed listening to me squeal every time Carolina scored. I like them too, it’s just I was rooting for Wake today.

I got my Collector’s Edition of  The Monkees cds today. Love the Monkees as much as I do the Beatles. I’ve got all the Beatles songs on tape but I’m going to have to break down and get them on cd, too.

Couldn’t really find a great version of the Porpoise Song or Vallerie so we’ll make do with these versions but maybe I’ll do my own someday. Pleasant Valley Sunday did have a video from the show.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 21:06:00

    In Australia’s east coast we got from .5 to 1 metre wave but the undertow was not as bad as predicted. Thankfully.

    Mostly, the board riders went out into the ocean and enjoyed themselves. Spectators lined the cliffs to watch but waves were the same as always.

    I suppose it was better to warn than not to warn because if it was bad everyone still alive after the event would have been angry not to be warned.

    I also think it could be called a drill or practice run for a really large wave sometime in the future. 🙂

    Reply

  2. curiocat
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 21:17:37

    Oh, I agree it’s better to have a warning than not but what I wonder is, could the opposite happen? In other words could they miss it and the disaster that didn’t happen this time occur because they didn’t know? I’m not sure. They really have sophisticated gadgets in place but as we all know they’re only as good as the humans who work them. I should have added that when I did the post cause that was really the thought on my mind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.