I Quit.

It was a hard decision but

I think the right one. I turned in my resignation @ UHC last Friday effective immediately. My supervisor, Angela, was very gracious about it and I appreciate it very much. Not a lot of sups would have been.

With the problems I’m having it was quickly coming to a point where I might not have left voluntarily and I would much prefer to leave on good terms. There is also the fact Paul is having problems right now. It’s very clear to me I’m needed at home for him so I think perhaps my most recent illness happened for a reason so I would be in a position to know it. Otherwise I might not have realized Paul was in distress til it was too late.

Besides after that last episode of getting sick and nearly passing out, it was scary, and it just took the heart right out of me. I did go to the neurologist who thought it maybe an irritated nerve in my face. He said it could have been from the allergic reaction to the medication or it could be from stress.  He wasn’t sure but he wants to do a mri. He doesn’t think it has anything to do with the headaches so that is part of the mri thing.

It’ll be hard but I have to believe this really was meant to be and God will take care of us. For one thing I think he’s got to know how devastated I would be if something happened to Paul. For another I know it comforts him when I’m here, he believes in God, so perhaps this is God’s way of taking care of Paul who needs help so badly at this time. I do have him a doctor appointment this week. He didn’t want to go but I presented it to him as a fait accompli so he gave in gracefully especially since I said I would be with him.

I believe in trying but sometimes after the, I don’t know, thousandth fall maybe it’s time to hitch a ride someplace else where there aren’t quite so many pot holes.

I heard this joke somewhere, can’t remember where. It says when God closes a door, he opens a window. Somebody replies, “Yeah, so I can jump out.”

Guess I’ll have to pack a parachute. Lol.

Peace.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 09:18:47

    Brave decision. Good luck! It may be scary for a while but you will lower your stress and regain your health.

    I don’t think the window was to jump out of, but rather to see all the new opportunities available. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ruth Baker
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 21:21:17

    Honey,
    I have often wondered how you have survived that job all these years. I hope you and Paul both get to feeling better in time. That job was so terribly stressful.

    I feel certain you will fine life more peaceful. I didn’t know Paul was sick I hope both of you will find your health again.

    Love you guys,

    Ruth

    Reply

  3. davisblue
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 22:41:52

    One of the worst times in my life, God came through in unexpected ways-but isn’t it just like Him to do something unexpected. Both me and my husband were laid off in Huntsville, AL. I loved it there, didn’t want to move but hubby got a job here in NC.

    We were down to draing the last bit of our bank account, renting an apt here and paying a morgage there. I couldn’t find a job, unemplyment ran out. My nails got a bit chewed before I found a lousy low paying temp job standing in one spot all day making plastic bottles. My back hurt so bad I quit. Felt guilty but my back vastly improved.

    Consequently, I got on with another temp agency contracted to Energizer. And low and behold, Energizer just happened be hiring after a five year freeze. Best job I ever had. No back pain after five years!

    Don’t fret, take care of family.

    Karen

    Reply

  4. riddleofdragons
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 11:35:53

    Love ya!

    Reply

  5. curiocat
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 19:43:27

    Thanks, everyone. I appreciate the encouragement. I’m visualizing a better future that includes writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.