Cherokee Morning Song

This song is so lovely

I just have to share it with you.

My grandmother (my dad’s mom), Winona, claimed Cherokee blood. I have no idea how true that is or not especially since the name Winona is Dakota in origin. I do know from the way one of my uncles looks it is possible there is Native American blood there. That being said I do have a great great grandmother from my mother’s side who was Rebecca Lightfoot. I’m assuming from her name she was married to someone of Native American blood if nothing else. I have to tell you all if there’s any Indian blood there it’s negligible. I sooo look like the anglo I mostly am, English/Irish.

Paul, the girls and I joined a Native American Flute Circle many years ago and for a time we were so into making our own flutes and learning the music. Unfortunately we got away from it but I still miss it. We named one of our cats Lakota after the tribe and I often refer to her as Lakota Sioux. She is definitely our warrior cat and is the oldest now at nine years old. She looks like a miniature black panther and is absolutely lethal in her beauty.

I still love Native American music and I have several cds. The music can be so soothing but some is visceral in its call to your guts and soul.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 17:56:59

    I’ve seen and listened to some Native American musical groups the music speaks to our soul.

    Reply

  2. curiocat
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 22:11:56

    Yeah, I don’t have near as much as I would like to have. It was nice to find the music there on youtube.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.