My Projects and Updates

There are quite a few of them actually.

The first project is me. I have to get in shape. This is how bad it is. No sooner than I came out of shock than I hurt my neck and shoulder on the left side in May.  The chiropracter helped some but it still took a couple of weeks to heal. I’ll stop here and say for a variety of reasons I’ve had problems with my neck for a long time and then my shoulders (rotater’s cuff tendinitis) due to a several accidents such as falls (as a child-down a flight of stairs and off tables, etc) and in car accidents. Several jobs manually holding a phone to my ear for long periods haven’t help. So when my right side started screaming I wasn’t really surprised. I couldn’t even go to the chiropracter there. Straight to the doctor for pain pills and then to the chiropracter. That took me into June because if my neck and shoulders go out then my lower back does-it does this twisty, spasm thing. Thank God it didn’t get as bad as it could have and has been.  Since then it has been colds, the flu, now a virus and last night I hurt my back again. I still have plenty of pain reliever left and it was the first thing I headed for when I realized what I’d done.

Yay! Lots of fun. The doctor says I’m trying to do too much. Well, ok but I have lots of things to do/catch up with and it’s frustrating as the seven levels of hoolies when I can’t.  The reason I keep hurting my neck and shoulders is, and this is a novel concept, I’m using them instead of just sitting in front of a computer all day per the doctor. The pictures from my computer room? It takes muscles to move that mess and evidently mine are non existent so therefore when I try to use them it doesn’t take much to strain ’em. So, I’ve been very slowly trying to use cleaning as my way of exercising and getting those muscles moving. I’m all about multi tasking. So I was just moving things left and right Tuesday and of course did too much. So first priority is I’ve got to get the weight off and get in shape both mentally and physically.

Oh, and the mri? I never heard back from the neurologist. My doctor fussed at me and said I can’t assume anything so I will call but I’m thinking it was normal.

Paul is doing much better. He stresses some over the no sugar thing and has eaten a couple of things he shouldn’t but overall he’s done a good job. His blood sugar has stayed consistently within the normal range. A little on the high side but still normal. Now if I can just get him to stop smoking and get off the diet cokes/cookies. I won’t fuss too much about the cokes but I really want him to stop smoking the pipe.

Second, I want to start putting up stuff from Moonfire every Sunday or Monday. I haven’t wrote as much as I would like (see above) but I have been writing. I’ve mainly been working on getting the stuff I’ve written transferred into the computer but…..

Third, I did write a short story called Rat Race and I did enter it into a local writing contest. Originally, it was supposed to end July 4th but they extended it to September 4th. I told my husband they either didn’t get enough entries to pay their prize money out or they thought everything they got was so awful they needed new entries so they could legitimately award the money to someone.  As soon as I know I will let you know and post it. I liked it and I’m hoping they will too.

Fourth, I am working on another short story. No contest here. Just something that has been rolling around in my brain for awhile. While I was “cleaning” I ran across the paragraph I had written and was intrigued with it again. It may be paranormal but there’s a thought in the back of my mind so maybe not. I have to start over though cause I looked at it and thought, too much tell and not enough show. Already. It’s going to be twisty, though.

Fifth, I still have Val and Dev on the brain so I’m getting ready to start with that story.

Sixth, is getting my home in shape. When you’re working and too busy to notice it’s amazing how nasty it can get. I’ve always tried to keep it clean but still little things are let go and they do build up to big things. This is part of the multitasking thing. It includes going through books/magazines and finding homes for the ones that are dups or just not wanted, cataloguing them and finding them a place here.

Seventh is selling my grandmother’s dolls.  When she passed over five years ago there were literally rooms you could not walk into because they were so full of dolls. My mother brought a lot of them home with her.  She’s already sold quite a few but there’s still a lot left so I’ll be helping with that.

Eighth is applying for a clone. Lol.

I could go on but the above list is more than enough to contemplate for the moment.

Peace.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 07:29:07

    Make a llist, and do one thing at a time and cross it off before you start the next. It works for me with no stressing at all. The other thing is close the doors of the rooms I haven’t got around to clearning.
    Some days it is so cold I don’t get out of bed until 10 or 11 am. 🙂 I just lay there and smile. I love retirement!

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 15:19:09

    I liked your short story, Im sure it is due to not having enough money for pay out.

    Reply

  3. curiocat
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 11:15:14

    @ Diane. I do make up lists and they do help. My problem is I start one thing, see something else that needs to be done too, get distracted and frequently end up in the middle of doing two or three things at the same time. I’ll have to work on that one thing at a time.

    As for doors-don’t have them. I have a feng shui type of home in that the kitchen flows into both a living room and the computer room (aka former dining room) that flows into another living room. Even the laundry room off the other side of the kitchen doesn’t have a door. Our bedrooms are off the last living room and they along with our bathrooms are the only rooms with doors. The one bedroom not in use is where the dolls are going.

    @ Holly. Thank you, honey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.