Randolph Writers

 I went to their meeting last night. It was a bit

awkward at first. They were surprised I came. I’m not sure why since they sent me an email inviting me. Then I realized they wanted to discuss the contest and offered to leave but they wouldn’t hear of it. They did discuss it briefly but nothing in detail. The longer I sat there the more I worried about it but really, if you want to discuss the contest, why are you inviting the contestants to the meeting?

Even though it was awkward initially, on the whole my impression was very good. I do plan to go to the meeting next month. I liked their method of giving and receiving criticism and the intimacy of  the group. Of course, a lot of people were on vacation so the dynamics may change when everyone comes back but for right now I liked what I saw. 

Everyone read a bit from their writing and it was really a great learning experience for me to hear what other people are writing and their subject matter. There is one other young woman who also writes fantasy in the group but she says it is dark fantasy. I don’t know what exactly she means by that but I hope to find out. Another young man is a screenwriter and filmmaker. How interesting! I can’t wait to hear more about what he is doing. An older lady (older than me) writes articles for a living and is a poet. Another lady (about my age, and yes we are older) writes historicals-not sure what kind yet.

A diverse group and I’m psyched about meeting them and learning more. I just about didn’t go and now I’m so glad I did. It was a great meeting and talking face to face with other writers was wonderful.

I did take a bit from the not paranormal short story I’m working on and read it for them. There was a brief discussion over a word I used and, to be honest, it was just thrilling. Am I weird or what?  Some people liked the word, some did not but-wow. Just wow. It was awesome and I loved every second. Overall, they liked what I read to them and said they wanted to hear more. Yay!

I need three sets of hands right now: one set to type with and two sets to pet dogs! Rex has been with us the last week while Holly and John are in San Diego. Belle Amie just climbed on my lap  and now Jade and Rex are on either side of me wanting in on the petting action, too. Time to go.

Peace.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 05:22:59

    Good luck with the next meeting. It must be great to hear what other authors think of your writing, and I hope you get lots of constructive crits that help you write good enough to get published.

    I went to one group of writers each month for 12 months and learnt nothing, and no one did readings and crits. I think the group was too large, more than 100 turned up each meeting.

    They had workshops but I was more advanced then what they were teaching. So quit paying and quit attending. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Angela/Curiocat
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 11:50:23

    Thanks. Actually the feedback I’ve gotten from you and Shayne has been pretty awesome. That you take the time from your own writing and busy schedule to take a look at what I write? I can’t say enough how appreciative I am. And when I think of how accomplished you are and you like the story? It just means the world.
    I think the difference is just the face to face and being able to discuss back and forth if that makes sense?
    As for being published, who knows? I’m not prepared to go there yet, if ever. I love writing though. Maybe I’ll get to that point sooner than I think. I have a lot of work to do first and I know it.

    Btw, I’ve downloaded your book off Smashwords and downloaded the short story, too. I’m looking forward to reading both. I know they will be great!

    Reply

  3. Diane
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 08:02:04

    🙂 I hope you love them too.

    Reply

  4. curiocat
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 12:11:03

    Diane, I added the links to the blog page, too. I really wish you the best of luck on these. I saw Cat had already reviewed for you when I was looking up the links. I’ll add mine when I read them. I plan to start reading this weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.