Rat Race Short Story, Treasurer and Fall

I didn’t win the short story contest.  When I went back

and read the story the day before I got the results I thought I understood why I wouldn’t win and I was wrong. I appreciated the critique I got and I’m open to more critique. They liked it but there was one big problem they had with it.  Can you guess? I’ve already put the tab and the story up under Rat Race on this blog. I’ll be posting the password in HtTS. Feel free to add comments.

The Randolph Writers met last Tuesday and guess who is the new Treasurer? If you guessed me then you’re right. I thought it would help get me going, get organized and help me set goals.

So I met Robin, the President of the TRW,  today to go to the bank and have my name put on the account. Wouldn’t you know it? One of my darlings had an accident and I didn’t see it so stepped in it on my way out the door. I kept smelling it in the car and kept wondering where is that smell coming from? I got out of the car at the Moring Art Center and of course it was on the carpet and pedals of my car. I was so embarrassed. I told her as soon as I got out of the car cause I figured she’d be smelling it and think I had a hygiene problem. Which I guess I did at that moment. So she says let’s go eat. O-kay. We walked over to a restaurant called Magnolia on Worth. Fortunately they have some grass over to the side and I’m able to wipe my feet off before I go in. Yuck! What a way to begin. Fortunately I’m not much on omens. Lol. Anyway, Magnolia is a great little place with lovely Magnolia flowers on the table. Quaint, great food, excellent service and inexpensive. We had a nice talk before going to the bank and taking care of business there.

Yesterday was the beginning of fall so of course I looked up a song to listen to:

I’ve always loved this song and I really love this video. If you watch pay attention at 1:06. Recognize this scene?

Peace.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Holly
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 10:19:30

    What is the scene? It looks like a Thomas Kinkade painting or a scene from Lord of the Rings

    Reply

  2. Alice
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 12:23:58

    Hi,

    ok, I really looked at min 1:06 in the video, paused it and everything … Had a good look … I can see a figure in the back ground ghostly. between the tree branches Just left of centre… looks like a head and shoulders of a human being facing to the right has on a cap or something…
    civil war ghost image? … I can also see an interesting reflection in the water about slightly left of centre. Not a true reflection of what I see in the trees but has a kind of human shape, similar in colours.

    is that what you’re talking about. Or am I out to lunch?

    See you over at HtTS

    Reply

  3. riddleofdragons
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 16:33:09

    LOL hummm…… I wonder (Sarcastically)

    Reply

  4. curiocat
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 16:04:18

    @ Alice. Thanks for visiting! Definitely will see you in HtTS.

    @ Holly. Don’t call your sister names just cause she got it. To be fair though, she looks at my blog more. (riddleofdragons is Tracey).

    Great guesses but if you look at the scene and then look at the header for my blog you should figure it out. It’s a little further away but still the same scene.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.