Katara and the Trip to Missouri

Katara travelled like

she’d been doing it all her life. There was no stomach upset that I could tell although she didn’t eat the entire 22 hrs we were on the road. Mostly she just drank water. When we pulled into rest areas she explored happily, didn’t meet a stranger the entire trip and every dog was her new best friend. It was a pleasure to travel with her. I was amazed at how very well she did.

Marti greeted Katara with, “Welcome to your forever home” and they hit it off right away. Katara is truly a special dog and a lucky one to get a great home although she tested it right off by having a bm behind Marti’s couch within 15 minutes of arrival. Marti took it very well and still wanted Katara, lol.  

Marti very kindly offered us a bed for the night and we were so grateful. It floored me she would do such a thing considering she didn’t know us at all. I hope we weren’t too much trouble for her. She was up early, bonding with Katara by giving her treats and going for a walk together. All before we were up! She made me some Oolong tea I think it’s called. It hit the spot!

Marti took these picture the morning after we arrived.

The next picture is of me and Katara.

The next pictures I took.

Marti and Katara.

Paul took the pictures of me, Marti and Katara.

Here is Katara’s other room mate. Nya.

We didn’t get to talk about writing much. I really hated that but it was more important that Katara start bonding with Marti. I hope we will get to talk more about it in the future.

After we left Katara and Marti we looked around. Marti recommended The Plaza, a lovely area. In looking around we stumbled across the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art and went in there for awhile. We spent the night about 100 miles out of St Louis and Saturday morning went to the Gateway Arc. After we left there we started home but in Indiana about 40 miles out of Louisville, KY our tire went flat so we stayed the night in Kentucky and spent Sunday morning getting it repaired.  The rest of Sunday we travelled home and arrived about 11:30pm.

On the way up we travelled from North Carolina to Tennessee, Kentucky, Illinois and Missouri. On the way back from Missouri to Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, West Virginia, Virginia and North Carolina. Seven states in four and a half days, have mercy. Eight if you want to count NC. Our GPS is a wonderful thing but I told Paul next time we were telling it instead of it telling us.

We had a wonderful, albeit exhausting time.  I loved Missouri, it is a beautiful state and maybe we’ll visit again sometime.

Thank you Marti for being everything I thought and hoped you would be. A great woman with a big heart.

Peace.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 18:50:02

    Glad it was a good trip. And a happy ending for Katara. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Texanne
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 20:09:16

    This is such a wonderful story! It seems perfect for a magazine, specially since you have photos, too.

    I am so grateful that you both went the extra mile (and then some!) for this precious life, this Katara.

    Reply

  3. Angela/Curiocat
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 22:46:21

    Thanks, ladies. It was just the right thing to do and in doing the right thing Paul and I, in turn, grew and learned. It was win/win for everyone.

    I’m so blessed in my family and friends.

    Reply

  4. Marti Verlander
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 21:30:39

    I’m still amazed that someone would drive halfway across the country — literally! — to bring a beautiful, sweet dog to a good home. Now there are the real big hearts! You didn’t mention that you drove 1000 miles in one day to bring her to me!

    She’s everything you told me she would be, and more.

    Reply

  5. curiocat
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 20:54:33

    Marti, I’m glad to hear she’s been what I promised. It was 22.5 hrs to be exact. It’s still hard for me to believe we managed that. I say we but Paul really did most of the driving. We were so exhausted and grateful for the bed you provided.
    I have to say this trip, Katara and you will stand out in my memory, in the best of ways, forever .

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Katara Update « Curiocat is… Angela McGill

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.