Harper’s Ferry Part 1

Harpers Ferry is right there in West Virginia squished

between Virginia and Maryland, the borders are literally within minutes of each other. It played a key role in many events in America. I loved the historic feel of the town. It was a lot of fun to visit and as with everything I’ve done this summer/fall I wish I had more time there. In this particular case I expect I will be visiting Harpers Ferry again because it’s on the way to visit Holly and John.

One of the many historical facts about this town is Lewis and Clark began their journey here in 1803:

Harpers Ferry has a center dedicated to the expedition. Mostly it had displays depicting the journey as indicated below. The other photos I have aren’t a great quality so I’ll wait and try to get more to share later on.

For more on the matter you can go here:

http://www.nps.gov/nr/travel/lewisandclark/har.htm

Harpers Ferry is probably best known for John Brown’s raid in 1859. The raid played a major role in beginning the Civil War. More information on this is found here:

http://www.wvculture.org/history/jnobrown.html

Originally the U.S. army used this building as a fire house but it later gained notoriety as John Browns Fort.

Fire hoses within the fort.

For general information:

http://historicharpersferry.com/index.php and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harpers_Ferry,_West_Virginia

This is the first of the photos I plan to put up from Harpers Ferry. Hope you enjoyed them.

Peace.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 20:17:11

    Cool, love the history lesson. My great grand father fought in the Civil war and he lost his brother as a result of the war. They were Union soldiers out of Penn.

    The Lewis & Clark expedition story I read was just incredible and interesting.

    Ruth

    Reply

  2. curiocat
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 21:00:52

    Ruth, it’s so cool you know that about your family but I’m not surprised with your interest in geneaology. I keep thinking I need to research my family history but then I think, do I really want to know? Lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.