Harpers Ferry Part 3

In Harper’s Ferry there is

a little gem. It is not what Harpers Ferry is known for but perhaps it should be one of them.

I loved, loved St Peter’s Roman Catholic Church. I’m not Catholic but if I lived near this church I’d probably be in there several times a week if they let me. It was originally built in 1833 for early Irish immigrants in the area and reflects their traditions. 

The climb to the church was a long one. This is a view from the street.

View from steps:

More steps:

I have pictures of still more steps but I’ll spare you. The exterior is lovely but doesn’t come close to the wonder inside.

Stained glass windows up close:

More windows:

Entrance:

Here are our costumed guides in the church.

Well that’s it for this post. The interior comes next.

What is that you say?

You want more now?

Oh, ok. Here’s a sneak peak.

The alter at the front of the church.

A close up of the Last Supper.

Peace.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 19:53:49

    What a beautiful Church. It reminds me of the one I went to with my Aunt & Uncle in California only this one is stone on the outside. Lovely church, what a cool job to have telling the history of an area.

    Ruth

    Reply

  2. curiocat
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 23:31:34

    I know. I would love a job like that although I’m betting these two are volunteers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.