Harpers Ferry Part 4

St Peter’s Roman Catholic Church still has mass at 11:00am on Sundays.

As lovely as it is, the exterior does not prepare you for the inside. Originally designed with a pseudo-Gothic style it was last remodeled in 1896. The interior is a fanciful, Neo-Gothic style called A Celtic Fantasy.

When I first walked into the church I was speechless. All I could do was stand and stare. I finally got the nerve to sit in one of the pews and just sat there absorbing the beauty of this place. I was almost afraid to ask but the guides said I could take pictures.

Lord knows I tried but in no way did I catch half of what I felt and saw on camera.

This is the view when you first walk in under a balcony. Don’t forget you can click on the photos to see them better.

A closer look.

From another angle.

If you’ll note here, the architecture frames the artwork throughout the church.

When I walked to my right I was struck speechless again by this stunning depiction of Christ placed in an alcove.

Stain glass windows are evenly spaced in the walls on both sides of the church.

This stained glass is of Jesus. Mary is in the same arrangement on the other side.

View of the balcony.

Close up of organ.

Was it worth the climb? Oh, yes. Definitely.

What did you think?

Peace.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 20:04:47

    I’ve always loved the beauty of Catholic Churches, its like they do the best to capture the above and beyond of what humans might imagine the divine to me. There was Catholic church where I lived in Los Angeles, and I used to just go in light a candle for my family and sit and pray in that beautiful place.

    Connie used to be an alter boy when he was growing up, don’t know if Paul ever was.

    Ruth

    Reply

  2. Tracey
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 07:58:05

    Awesome pictures mother!

    Reply

  3. curiocat
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 23:34:31

    @ Ruth. Yep, Paul was an altar boy, too. I think you right, it’s like they’re trying to create their own little piece of heaven.

    @ Tracey. Thanks, punkin.

    Reply

  4. ekcarmel
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 22:01:51

    Wonderful photos! I love to look at beautiful churches as well. While visiting in Canada, we saw a breathtaking basilica in downtown Montreal as well as the huge shrine to Brother Andre. Amazing!

    Reply

  5. curiocat
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 01:29:28

    Thanks Eileen, I’m so happy to share. I always feel privileged to view the amazing things people and God create.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.