MRI Results

Finally went and got ’em.

The neurologist and his office are pinheads.  When I called they said well we called you April 6. Hel-lo. Didn’t have the mri til May so please don’t try to act like it’s my fault cause I assumed when you didn’t call back everything was ok. It would have felt good to say that but I was nice and didn’t.

So I have to go back for another mri in May 2011. I don’t know if I’ll use this same office or talk to my primary doctor and get another referral. This practice seems to be a badly run office because of this issue and a couple of others that bothered me.

It’s really not serious, I researched cysts in the brain on the net and it’s fairly common but they do like to keep an eye on them and make sure they don’t grow. I don’t know if they check on a regular basis or if the repeat mri is a one time thing. That will be something I’ll find out in May. This particular cyst is in the back of my brain in an area that is not considered dangerous. It could potentially cause balance or speech problems if it grows but at this point it’s very small.

They told me not to worry about it and I believed them after I did the research. It’s always a good idea to check up on the docs. Poor Missy is a good example of that, if I’d done my job right she might be alive today and I feel guilty as hell about that. You should be able to trust your doctor but even the good ones make mistakes. So do the research and ask questions. If the doctor and his office are any good at all they won’t mind.

Peace.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 02:19:43

    Well done! Now you have the diagnosis you can research for cures or treatments. And I do agree on second diagnosis.

    As for telling them their dates are wrong, I would. Politely, of course. If we don’t pull up the professionals on their sloppy practices they will continue the same way.

    Best of luck with the information.

    Reply

  2. ekcarmel
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 22:10:59

    Why am I not surprised to hear about these sorts of things? I’m just sorry you have to go through all that again. Yes, by all means, ask for another referral!

    Reply

  3. curiocat
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 01:38:44

    @ Diane. If it comes up again, I definitely will.

    @ Eileen. Thanks. I’m not looking forward to another MRI either but it’s best to be sure about theses things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.