Freaky on Friday: Post Apocalypse

I can’t say I was totally freaked out by the announcement the world was going to end on May 21, 2011 at six o’clock, by time zone no less. But. It was a little freaky.

Just a niggle in the back of the brain. I joked saying I just wanted to be sure my hair and teeth were brushed by six, just in case. You know what? Six o’clock came and went and I forgot to notice. As apocalypses go this one was ho-hum.

But Angela you ask, don’t you believe? Well yeah but the Bible makes it clear no one but God knows the date and I know of no reason to believe that David Camping has been more blessed than the rest of us.

You know I actually felt sorry for the dude. I thought at least he has the conviction to stand up for what he believes in and put his reputation on the line. How many people are willing to do that? To literally put their money where their mouth is? Not many. But then he went and opened his mouth again.

Yep. The apocalypse was spiritual and is taking place now. It will end in a physical apocalypse on October 21, 2011. No time given as of yet but he has advised we will be consumed in a fireball. The idea of being consumed in a fireball does freak me out a little. Maybe that’s the point.

Tracey and I watched a program on the History Channel called Hell: The Devil’s Domain. It was a good program and it said something interesting that caught my attention.  Hell, and descriptions there of, was used to bring people into the church.

The priests noticed the more they talked about hell and how gruesome and painful it was the more people came to hear it. So to keep the people coming the priests learned to play to their audience by getting more inventive in their descriptions. Some things never change.

This is what David Camping is doing; he’s playing to his audience. We’ve gone from catastrophic earthquakes to a fireball consuming us. That’s one way to manage damage control. There’s always someone who has that ‘what if’ thing in the back of their minds and will listen to someone like Mr. Camping.

Sure there are those who positively rejoice in the idea of the world ending in such a way as Camping describes. They roll it around their tongues and can actually taste it while their eyes shine as they talk about it. I’ve met a few. They are freaky and sorta scary.

Then there’s those like my dear husband, Paul, who was a bit disappointed the apocalypse didn’t take place because he had to go into work that night. I laughed at him and with him. Oh yeah, I didn’t get my teeth or hair brushed by six either. It was more eightish.

Mr. Camping isn’t the only one in the apocalypse business. Most predictions have come and gone. The Mayan Calendar is still an open question even though many scientists have debunked it.  Nostradamus predicts the end in 3786 or 3797 depending on who you talk to. In fact there’s a whole website devoted to Armageddon.

The end of the world can entertain us although I did think the movie 2012 sucked a big fireball (maybe this is where Camping got his idea). War of the Worlds, Omega Man, The Road, I Am Legend, Independence Day and even The Day After Tomorrow were all better end of the world movies.

Try Greg Bear’s The Forge of God. It is an excellent end of the world read. I can’t say more because I’ll ruin the book but it sucked the air right out of my lungs. The book of Revelations may be too real for entertainment but it will make your hair stand on end.

It’s no mystery why humans enjoy these types of entertainment. We enjoy the adrenaline rush or if our life is bad it’s nothing compared to what’s on the screen or page.

At this point I’m content to leave it in God’s hands but there’s nothing wrong with speculating. In fact I think it’s normal to do so in a responsible way. In other words no fear mongering.

Does the idea of an apocalypse freak you out or do you look forward to it? Do you even believe in it or care? Where will you be on October 21? What end of the world predictions have you heard? What are your favorite end of the world books or movies?

Peace.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    May 27, 2011 @ 20:30:43

    I love this subject because I have been hearing it all my life. Was even in an end of days religion that promised the end in 1975. (laughing) Well 1975 came and went then the leadership sort of quit saying much except it was coming any day now. We blindly trusted they knew what the heck they were talking about. Now 35 years later the end still hasn’t come. After another 26 years of listening to promises of the end coming, I began wonder why did I want the end of the world to come. It would mean everyone I cared about outside of my religion would be destroyed. Isn’t that sick to wish you beloved family members DEAD simply because they didn’t believe the way some old white guys in New York declared was truth.

    Well after being mentally dead for 32 years I came to life and left that idiotic so called Christian religion that wanted everyone destroyed except their very small ranks of people. Actually this particular one is refered to as a cult by most Christian circles. I won’t mention the name of it because it is easily identifable by the general public as the people who come door knocking & preaching with their magazines & books. On looking back I feel sorry for them most of the older ones have died waiting for the end by God’s hand. It’s embarrassing to have even been in such a religion really, it shows how stupid and gullible I was.

    The people who believed Rev. David Camping besides himself are deluded and as ignorant as I once was. I hope the these people wake up and realize God is much more than their narrow perspective. Thanks for bringing this up Angela. Let’s pray for all those folks that are being mislead by lying religions.

    Hugs,

    Ruth

    Reply

    • Angela/Curiocat
      Jun 04, 2011 @ 16:40:05

      Ruth, the JW’s prey on people’s fears, their need to feel special and even take advantage of their social needs just like a lot of religions do. It’s just more intense with the JW’s. You were young and into a lot of stuff and your then husband became a JW so it was just about inevitable.

      You’ve learned a lot and you are who you are because of it. It has put you in a position to help other people. Indeed, Dak’s death has given you a unique view of religion that not many people have.

      So yes I’ll pray with you. I pray for those kids who are at mom and dad’s mercy and die from something so simple as an ear infection.

      I pray for the woman at the mall who sat beside me and went on and on about Christ’s death on the cross and went into a macabre description of his wounds. She fit the description of the people who freak me out I described above.

      You know me, Ruth. I’m always interested in other religious viewpoints but I had to stop her. As I told Paul later she was just enjoying it too much. I just advised her that I appreciated her sharing and while I was thankful for Christ’s sacrifice I believed in focusing on the positive aspects of Christ’s death rather than the negative. I told her to watch Hour of Power.

      I’ll pray for all those people who gave up their life’s savings to that man and his religious organization.

      Actually I’ve already prayed but I’ll keep on for them and everyone who needs it. My heart hurts for them all. They just want to believe in God and be a part of something special. There’s nothing wrong with that but God gave us common sense for a reason, too.

      Reply

  2. Damian Trasler
    May 29, 2011 @ 22:50:31

    I liked the Tweet from someone I follow that said “Why predict the end of the world? If you’re wrong you look like a twit, and if you’re right there’s no one around to applaud…” There was also a good post-failed-apocalypse that said “Right, now the next world hasn’t arrived, can we make a start on sorting THIS one out?”. That’s my sentiment, after being brought up in a Christian family. I’m all for making heaven on earth, thank you very much, rather than waiting til we’re dead.

    Reply

  3. Angela/Curiocat
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 18:05:50

    Damian I love the sentiment. We should be focusing on sorting out this world and making it better. All of us, together.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.