Freaky On Fridays: The Itsy Bitsy Spider

Isn’t so bitsy. 

In general I try to ignore spiders. The occasional spider does come in and I, Paul or Tracey will catch them and put them back outside.

They don’t make me happy and when I really think about them and the way they kill and eat their prey, it kind of freaks me out. However, I recognize they are good for the environment and if they leave me alone; I leave them alone.

We’ve even had the occasional pet spiders. Years ago some black widows set up webs in my book shed so Paul caught them in a small pet habitat. Tracey fed them and kept them under the porch for a while before I made her set them free. Out in woods. Far, far away.

Last week I let the dogs out on the back porch. They stopped long enough to greet Shades, one of our indoor/outdoor kitties, and then ran on out into the backyard.  

As I closed the sliding the doors I saw a humongous spider running at me along its web. While I was sick a Carolina Wolf spider set up shop there beside my doors. Yikes!

Wolf spiders are aggressive little critters. One time I went into my bathroom and there was a ginormous Wolf spider on the floor, waiting for me. I yelled for Tracey to get a jar because Paul wasn’t home.

The spider took a step toward me. I stepped back. It kept up this way until I was in the shower while the spider stared me down. Tracey came in with a jar but next thing you know, she was in the shower with me. Talk about being freaked out.

Tracey wanted to catch it and I had no problem with that. Lol. Would you? After a few tries, because the frickin’ thing was almost bigger than the width of the jar, she was able to catch it. We studied him/her for a minute or two, mostly with relief that s/he’s in a jar, then let it go outside.

Come back to the present as I let my dogs back in. The spider is still there but the cat isn’t. I call the cat but she doesn’t respond. Freak out! I turn to the spider and stare at it with suspicion as I call Shades again. Smart cat that she is, she was hiding under the grill on the other side of the porch. Spiders freak her out, too!

It wasn’t hard to get these photos at all. I just walked out on to the back porch and the little monster wanted to know who or what was invading its territory.

Some people keep Wolf spiders as pets and consider them good display animals. One care sheet says they are semi-aggressive. I would hate to see a very aggressive spider then!

Additional information about this spider can be found at this website and here.

Spider movies:

– Arachnopobia with Jeff Daniels is a classic about a man with arachnophobia who moves with his family to a small town that is invaded by spiders.

– Kingdom of the Spiders with William Shatner is a little cheesy but still worth a watch as mutated giant spiders attack another small town.

– The Spiderman movies with Tobey Maguire as a young man bitten by a radioactive spider who develops super powers just in time to fight mutated super bad guys.

– The Fly. This obviously isn’t a spider movie. Spoiler alert! However the final scene in this movie with David Hedison as part fly caught in a web as a spider moves toward him is horrifying. He’s screaming, “Help me, help me! I saw this as a kid and it still freaks me out.

Great spider characters are:

– Charlotte from Charlotte’s Web by E.B White. She’s the only good spider on this list, even if her eating habits are a little freaky.

– Aragog from the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling. Hagrid’s pet won’t eat him but wouldn’t mind having a little Ron or Harry on the side.

– Shelob from The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. She’s not a pet of Sauron’s but just as evil in her own way as she wraps Frodo for a snack. 

Cute poem:

Little Miss Muffet,
Sat on her tuffet,
Eating her curds and whey,
Along came a spider
And sat down beside her,
And frightened Miss Muffet away.

You know we got to have a video:

Are you freaked out? What is your favorite Spider movie or character? Have you ever been chased by a spider? Is that Itsy, Bitsy Spider song stuck in your head? Cause it is mine.

Peace.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy M.
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 20:05:31

    I used to read (and sing) an itsy-bitsy spider toddler book to my oldest boy when he was a baby, before EVERY naptime. Until he was about 5 months old, and I went back to work. Now 12 years later, if he has any phobia, it would be of spiders.
    O_o

    Reply

  2. ekcarmel
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 09:46:13

    Oh, yes! We loved singing the Itsy Bitsy Spider song – when I was kid, and I sang it with my kids. However, I’m sooo NOT a fan. That wolf spider would freak me out, but good!

    Reply

  3. dianejcornwell
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 23:13:12

    The only ones I step on are Funnelweb (none when I live now) and Redback spiders. The rest (not dangerous) I leave alone to remove the insects from the garden and house.

    I have also gently moved some outside before visitors arrive. Funny how they find their way back inside when the visitors leave. 🙂

    I also herd some of the baby geckos into rooms and close the door until the visitors leave, just in case one gets stepped on accidently. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Shellie Sakai
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 11:30:11

    You are definitely more generous than I am . Spiders and me do not get along. The brown recluse is one I will go out of my way to kill. I had a wolf spider hanging over my head while I was writing one day. I was totally unaware of the bugger watching me until my daughter came in and pointed it out. I jumped over my chair and back about four feet!

    I like my virtual spider. That’s as close as I get to them! 😀

    Reply

    • curiocat
      Jun 13, 2011 @ 21:51:15

      Shellie, didn’t I tell you my spider is bigger than yours?

      If I had a spider hanging over my head I would definitely freak out!

      Your virtual spider is definitely cool.

      Reply

  5. Tiffany A White
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 13:10:05

    Okay, Angela – I couldn’t read all of your post because I HATE SPIDERS. You’re talking to the girl that moved out of her home office last week because she saw 4 centipedes on the wall in a 24 hour period. You’re talking to the girl that has a bug-man on speed dial. 🙂

    Wood spiders are some of the worst because they jump! EEK! I was driving to a wedding shower one day and one crawled out on my visor inside the car. I was talking on the cell phone, dropped it, screamed, and smushed the darn thing across the visor to make sure it was dead. The black streak never came off entirely. My friend was screaming into the phone during all this terrified I had been in a wreck. It was amazing that I wasn’t.

    The only spider I wouldn’t kill is Charlotte…..but I’d need her to talk to me so that I knew it was her. 🙂

    Reply

  6. curiocat
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 21:55:40

    Tiffany, you crack me up. I’m with you. Anything that jumps out at me deserves to be smooshed, especially when I’m in a car. What a freak out!

    Charlotte only talks to other animals. You’ll have to check her web for any communications! Lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.