About Writing On Wednesdays: Tolkien Rules

Here are some quotes from J.R.R. Tolkien to ponder. He is the one who inspired me to write fantasy, you know.

“Still round the corner there may wait/A new road or a secret gate. And though I oft have passed them by/A day will come at last when I/Shall take the hidden paths that run/West of the moon, East of the Sun.” J. R. R. Tolkien

“A single dream is more powerful than a thousand realities.” J. R. R. Tolkien

 “I am told that I talk in shorthand and then smudge it.” J. R. R. Tolkien

 “I have claimed that Escape is one of the main functions of fairy-stories, and since I do not disapprove of them, it is plain that I do not accept the tone of scorn or pity with which ‘Escape’ is now so often used. Why should a man be scorned if, finding himself in prison, he tries to get out and go home? Or if he cannot do so, he thinks and talks about other topics than jailers and prison-walls?”  J. R. R. Tolkien

“Never laugh at live dragons.” J. R. R. Tolkien

“It’s the job that’s never started takes longest to finish.” From the Lord of the Rings. by J. R. R. Tolkien

“Not all who wander are lost.” J. R. R. Tolkien

“Courage is found in unlikely places.” J. R. R. Tolkien

“Fairy tale does not deny the existence of sorrow and failure: the possibility of these is necessary to the joy of deliverance. It denies (in the face of much evidence, if you will) universal final defeat…giving a fleeting glimpse of Joy; Joy beyond the walls of the world, poignant as grief.” J. R. R. Tolkien

“I warn you, if you bore me, I shall take my revenge.” J. R. R. Tolkien

“It does not do to leave a live dragon out of your calculations, if you live near him.” From the Hobbit.  J. R. R. Tolkien

“Little by little, one travels far.” J. R. R. Tolkien

“Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don’t we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we’re partisans of liberty, then it’s our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!” J. R. R. Tolkien

Peace.

Who inspired or inspires you to write? Do you enjoy quotes? What’s your favorite?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tiffany A White
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 20:25:06

    I guess I’d have to say that Shakespeare inspired me to write, even though I don’t write in Old English….I fell in love with literature at 14 because of his greatness.

    Do you know if they’re making a Hobbit movie?

    Reply

  2. ekcarmel
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 08:02:34

    I love Tolkein and he is one of my many inspirations for writing, as are Robert Heinlein, Frank Herbert, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Kate Eliot, the list goes on…

    I’m not really a quote person in the sense that I actively look for and memorize them. But I love it when I come across a particulary good one. So forgive me for mangling this one to death: “Fairy tales don’t tell children monsters exist, for they already know that. Fairy tales tell children monsters can be killed.” Or something like that. It always made perfect sense to me.

    Reply

  3. Tracey
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 20:00:59

    My muse inspires me sometimes. She can be the big “B” when she’s not in the mood though. I love quotes in general so I don’t have a favorite.

    Reply

  4. Diane Mills
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 23:37:43

    I have lots of quotes, but the one I live by is: “It only takes one good man to speak up to stop evil.” That is one of the themes of my stories. As for Shakespeare, I still read stories from his complete works at least once a year, just for laughs.

    As for quotes in my stories, I let the aliens speak the profound quotes. 🙂

    Reply

    • Angela/Curiocat
      Jul 04, 2011 @ 01:58:42

      Great quote to live by, Diane.

      I’ve read a bit of Shakespeare but I’m a Fantasy fan all the way through. Tolkien is the one I return to every year or so.

      And aliens? They are always good for something profound. After all they are aliens.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.