In Memory Of: Witchipoo

Far too young to die and yet she lost her life early on Friday morning, July 1, 2011. It was my decision to make and I did. Beloved friend, companion and cat. An awesome cat the vet told me. She really was.

“Ceaseless as the interminable voices of the bell-cricket, all night til dawn my tears flow.” ~Murasaki Shikibu (The Tale of Genji)

 

Whereas some high schools have museums or cultural centers Randleman Sr. High School has barns, cows, chickens, goats and other assorted farm animals. About six and a half years ago several of the cats gave birth and the school was overrun by kittens.

One day, while waiting to be picked up from school, Tracey set her backpack down and ran back in for a forgotten item. When she returned there was a tortoiseshell kitten sitting beside the backpack. She took it as a sign and brought her home.

Two days later whatever kittens weren’t taken home were sent to the pound. At that time the Randolph County pound killed every cat or kitten that came through their doors if they weren’t indoor animals.  When Tracey told me it seemed the kitten was in the right place, at the right time.

At the same time we had fostered a German Shepherd who needed a home. He could not stay with us because he was all about killing cats and I had five of them. As it was he eventually killed Matrix and probably another cat but this isn’t their story.

When I put him in the paper I knew a future forever home would have to be screened carefully. That Monday when I got home from work there was no one home, no Wolfgang. However, there was a tiny tortoiseshell kitten sitting in the chair whose green eyes were blinking at me from an amazingly beautiful face.

A couple of thoughts flashed through my mind. The first and most ludicrous was that our cats had gotten together and somehow cursed the dog so he was now a kitten. Second was alarm because it seemed something had happened that wasn’t supposed to. 

It turned out it had and the people who took Wolfgang weren’t very happy because they also had cats. I didn’t blame them and Wolfgang came back to us that night. Now there was a kitten to protect, too. To make a long story short, Wolfgang did find a forever home to someone who didn’t like cats either. Perfect match.

For a couple of weeks I kidded myself I was going to find the kitten a home, too. In the end I asked Paul if I could have her for a birthday present. He smiled at me and told me that was the whole idea.

You’re probably wondering about her name. Paul got it as soon as I named her. As kids we grew up watching H.R. Pufnstuf. There was a character in the show named Witchiepoo and my kitten reminded me strongly of her. Full of sass, she was a little spitfire.

The older cats loved and played with her constantly. Coleurs and Jazper in particular took her under their wings. It was hilarious to watch the bigger cats run by with that tiny ball of fluff chasing after them. Then they would turn around and chase her.

Witchi was often the victim of Dino’s revenge. She loved to sit and bat at his tail. Because she was christened so much I began to wonder if I had cursed her with that name but it suited her and she it.

A very vocal cat was our Witch. She answered when we called her and loved a good conversation. She talked to us and to the vet to the very end. Oh, God. Her loss hurts. As I told a friend my heart has a great, bloody gouge in it.

A funny story is when I had her spayed. The day after I dropped her off I sat watching everyone else get their doped up, very quiet cats. I could hear my cat coming. The staff was smiling and everyone in the lobby was laughing. La Witch was pissed and very loud in her discomfort. As I carried her out the door I heard calls of good luck.

The thing about Witchi and the one that hurts me the most is that she truly was a great cat. Awesome as the vet said. She sat back and patiently waited a turn that sometimes didn’t come. Because she wasn’t a squeaky wheel she often missed it or was overlooked. 

I sincerely thought we had time, you see. I kept thinking her turn would come and there would be more time for her. It turns out we didn’t have that time and it hurts more than I can say. Death has been compared to a thief in the night and yeah, in this instance, it for damn sure was.

I’ll miss her very, very much.

I have to take a break for a while. My heart is just not into posting right now. Give me two or three weeks and I’ll be back.

Til then,

Peace.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Billie Jo Woods
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 09:14:56

    Sorry to hear about your loss. Hold on to your lovely memories. Pets are sometimes more like family than our actual families.

    Reply

  2. Texanne
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 09:40:31

    Tears. Hugs. Thoughts of healing for you and your family. She was beautiful and lively. I believe that she still is, but she is temporarily beyond our sight. Take comfort from and give it to the ones still with you, however many legs they have. :)TX

    Reply

    • Angela/Curiocat
      Jul 12, 2011 @ 22:38:03

      I have been taking comfort from husband and children. People often say cats aren’t as caring as dogs but I haven’t found it to be true. My cats know when I’m upset and come to cuddle with me. I have dogs at my feet and cats on my lap, beside or behind me. I’m very blessed. I told Witchipoo how much she was a blessing to me before she died. I miss her.

      Reply

  3. ekcarmel
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 11:26:10

    So very sorry, Angela. I love cats and the more personality the better. Your Witchi sound like she had loads of it. Take the time you need to mourn her. We’ll be here when you return. *hugs*

    Reply

  4. Diane Mills
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 01:48:26

    Hugs from me too.

    Reply

  5. Tiffany A White
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 11:10:15

    I am so sorry, Angela. My heart breaks for you. My animals are my children and I can understand the pain you must feel right now. Take as much time as you need. We’ll be here for you when you’re ready.

    Reply

    • Angela/Curiocat
      Jul 12, 2011 @ 22:48:30

      Thanks so much, Tiffany. They are very much like my children and act like it, too. I have a brat or two, an I’m telling mom animal, an I can do no wrong animal, and you get the picture. With as many as I’ve got there’s a bit of everything in the personality dept.

      You can’t live with these little beings day in and day out without coming to care for them almost like your human family. And really some of my cats aren’t nearly as catty as some of my relatives. Lol.

      Reply

  6. Jenny Hansen
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 16:32:05

    I’ve been meaning to tell you, Angela, she’s such a cute kitty. It is so damn hard to lose our pets….

    Your pals are holding your hands through cyberspace. Do you feel us?

    Reply

    • Angela/Curiocat
      Aug 12, 2011 @ 23:21:45

      Yes, I’ve felt the caring from you all. You all have been very supportive and it helped just to talk to you and Sharon about it. Everyone was awesome and so supportive from #MyWana.

      I’ve felt blessed and thank you all so much. I appreciate everyone’s comments and support here.

      I am coming back, there’s just been a complication. We can all say it together, “I’ve been sick.” Ugh. Hope to be better soon.

      Reply

  7. Michael E. Walston
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 16:57:17

    I’m sorry for your loss.

    I lost one recently, too, and I know it does hurt.

    Good luck.

    Reply

    • Angela/Curiocat
      Aug 12, 2011 @ 23:33:56

      Hey, Michael. Thanks for coming by and sharing your loss with me. I am so sorry. You have my deepest sympathy.

      It does hurt, doesn’t it? My heart has stopped throbbing and the tears doesn’t come as often but I keep looking at her spot she liked to lay in thinking to check on her and she’s not there.

      I hope the pain you feel eases soon. Take care.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.