Irene’s Outer Bits

On Saturday, August 27, 2011 the most of Hurricane Irene we saw was her rear as she passed wind our way around 15-20 miles per hour.  It was the nicest end she had. There were some clouds that floated around looking dark and ominous bringing no rain.

This really isn’t a dramatic video of Hurricane Irene. Far from it. The most excitement in here is Lakota (the black cat), Shades (dilute tort) and some trash blowing around in the yard. You can hear Fox news in the background talking about the hurricane.

Please take this in the spirit it is meant, me playing with the camera and YouTube. Next step is to figure out how to edit along with any other cool thing I can find or do.

 Photos from Yahoo:

http://news.yahoo.com/photos/hurricane-irene-1314075193-slideshow/

http://news.yahoo.com/photos/irene-cleanup-could-take-days-along-east-coast-1314579675-slideshow/#crsl=%252Fphotos%252Firene-cleanup-could-take-days-along-east-coast-1314579675-slideshow%252Fnorth-carolinas-coastline-recovers-hurricane-20110828-184108-856.html

Photos from Fox news:

 

http://www.myfox8.com/news/wghp-photos-hurricane-irene-20110827,0,5891401.photogallery

http://www.foxnews.com/slideshow/world/2011/08/25/irene-leaves-damaged-property-fear-in-its-wake/#slide=1

 Peace.

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane J Mills
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 02:26:54

    i am glad you were only on the edge of the storm and are all safe. My heart goes out to all the families that lost homes or loved ones in the storm.

    I looked at some of the photos and it is the same results as a cyclone ripping through North Queensland except your hurricane turns the opposite way to our cyclones.

    I have written 2348 words so far today, and need to stop for an hour or two to watch the news. I am sure I will see some of the devastation from your storm then.

    Reply

    • Angela/Curiocat
      Sep 11, 2011 @ 00:55:59

      It was quite a bit of devastation that is still going on. From what I’m seeing and hearing about as much destruction has happened after Irene dissipated as when she was a hurricane.

      Wow! Great word count.

      Reply

  2. Tiffany A White
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 18:43:11

    I’m just glad that you and many of the hundreds of thousdand effected are safe! You’re ahead of me – I have yet to video anything on my smart phone yet along post my own video to Youtube. 🙂

    Reply

    • Angela/Curiocat
      Sep 11, 2011 @ 00:53:09

      Tiffany. I was so excited to upload my first YouTube video. You know how long it took? About six hours. I couldn’t believe it for less than five minutes. I don’t know if it was my computer or what but I’m going to have to really like the next video or it has to be really short for me to upload.

      It’s also good incentive for me to learn to edit. 🙂

      Thanks for the caring.

      Reply

  3. ekcarmel
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 10:20:13

    I’m coming to this post late. Like you, we ended up getting Irene’s back end as she passed by New York. I like the dramatic sky in your video, particularly the sun peeking through near the end.

    Shades made me laugh! My Lugnut is about 8 yrs old and most of the time he tries to find a high place and look down on the rest of us mere mortals. However, the other day I saw him just get his back up and race around the yard like Shades was doing. Then he stopped and licked his paw as if nothing had happened! Gotta love those felines.

    Reply

    • Angela/Curiocat
      Sep 11, 2011 @ 01:02:11

      Hey, Eileen. The sun and clouds were cool weren’t they? I was sure I’d be alone in thinking that. Thanks for the company. 🙂

      Shades is a sweetie and she has such a great story that I’m going to have to share with you all. She is one great mama and a very special cat.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.