About Writing on Wednesdays: What’s Up?

Well, I’ve been writing of course.

You might be surprised to know I have blogs written but not posted. Most are 3/4 written or just need to be polished up but I’ve yet to do this. I may never post them and just start over.

The problem is allergies are killing me this year. Not literally of course but there’s been a couple of days all I could do was just boil some water with sage in it and ride out the runny nose, coughing, sneezing in the bed with a box of tissues.  The worst part is when my eyes swell, itch and water making it difficult to see let alone type.

I bought one of those sinus cleaners and I came to the conclusion all that controversy about water boarding may be exaggerated. Cause hel-lo, Americans pay good money to waterboard themselves when they purchase one of these products. I thought I was going to drown myself the first time I tried it last night.

Huh? Oh, yeah. Right. Writing.

So I’ve been writing. I’ve got one short story done. A little over 1400 words. Not a long story but one I like. It’s called To Touch a Unicorn. It isn’t what you think, none of that stuff about horny unicorns, loss of innocence, etc.  It is about what happens when unicorns show up in our world and a girl named Mia touches one.

My beta reader thinks I should submit for publication and I may do that. I’m not sure I have the right mind-set yet. It’s also why you’re not going to see me put stuff up on the site. I’m just not mentally there. She also wants more from that universe. I do have an idea about continuing the story or at least I’ve got the first two sentences down.

My writing buddy also liked it which is kind of awesome because he’s like Mikey who doesn’t like anything, in a good way. His only criticism was it wasn’t long enough. In this case I will follow Dean Wesley Smith’s advice and not do anything more to it unless I’m asked by an editor to do it, if I go that route.

I actually got the idea for the story from Chuck Wendig’s Friday challenge. He is unique in his point of view making me laugh while I learn to write. Never underestimate the power of laughter, it opens gateways into other worlds as my inspiration for this story can attest. 

Because he’s actually inspired me I bought his Revenge of the Penmonkey essays and in a special promotion got 250 Things You Should Know About Writing as a bonus. Also he has a new son so buying this should help keep the baby in diapers.

Before I work in the unicorn universe again I want to finish up my other stuff. Another short story I’ve been working on for about a year now is called Not a Paranormal. You’re probably thinking, “Good grief.” And you’d be right cause I just figured the story out. I’m excited about it, too.

My excuse for why it took so long is because I didn’t start with The Sentence. I didn’t put the idea out there and wait for lightning to strike and Curiocat to swipe me with her paw. Y’all in HTTS know what I’m talking about.

Now I can finish cause I’ve got my sentence and I know the middle and ending. What I  started out with was the first sentence of the story and the premise that werewolves and vampires don’t exist. Or do they? Minta is about to find out.

Let’s see. Oh, yes. Star Crossed is part of my holiday short stories. The bad news about this story is it’s a Valentine’s Day story so I’m way behind. It was supposed to be a short story with maybe 4,000 to 5,000 words, at present I’m over eight thousand.  It’s officially a novelette.

For awhile I was stuck and once again using HTTS techniques got myself unstuck and the good news is I only have a few more scenes to write. It is a futuristic romance. I wasn’t intending it to go there but it did and it’s all good. To be honest I didn’t think I could write a romance so it’s been a nice surprise to know I can.

This story is about Valentine meeting a guy who isn’t what he seems. I know, I know it’s been done to death but I hope it has enough of a twist to make it a bit different. I wanted to tell the love story of the two kitties I had when I was growing up, Billyboy and Twigs, but then it sort of morphed from there.

I do have two other holiday short stories floating in the ether for St. Patrick’s Day and Easter but nothing I want to share yet.

What else? My little corner office with the view is coming along nicely. We’ve been working on this as we could afford. My son-in-law gave me one of his old computers and we cleared out a corner for it in what I euphemistically refer to as the music room. All I needed was a desk which I’m sure you know is expensive.

I put my order in to the universe and it coughed up this beat up old desk that I fell in love with immediately. My mother first saw it for $45 in the Goodwill store. The price kept falling and she called me when it went down to $5. Did I mention she has a senior discount? $4. You heard me right, I only paid $4 for my desk.

The reason no one wanted it was because it was listing to one side, it’s huge, there was no keyboard tray, it had stains all over it and I’m guessing someone drilled a hole in the desktop for some type of equipment. So?

We fixed the listing by removing the wheels that were breaking off, the stains were easy peasy to remove, I love how big it is, Paul replaced the keyboard tray for me from the remains of another old desk we had and my monitor sits over the hole. Problems fixed and after using a good polish on it I have a gorgeous oak desk. Yay!

I have other ideas for my little corner of the world but the basics are there now and I’m ready to sit at my new desk and do some creating. This really is a big deal for me. One thing I’ve always had a problem with is the ability to focus taking forever for me to settle down.

If there’s any distractions going on it’s ten time harder for me to block noise out. A lot of times it’s like ants are crawling all over my body and I’m wiggling everywhere. Music helps on occasion but sometimes its like using sandpaper on my nerves.

A quiet little corner will give me somewhere to go when there’s too much distraction and I can’t focus. I’ve put another order in for an easy chair to curl up in just for dreaming. It’ll sit next to the wall beside my desk.  We plan to get a couple of bookcases to block off the area as we can afford them.

Of course this is just the physical stuff. The rest is mental leaving it up to me to have the discipline to plant my rear in the seat and write.

The short-term goal is to write everyday even it’s only a sentence but once I get started I know I’ll do more than that. Another short-term goal is to increase my writing speed cause y’all know I’m slower than a turtle. We all know the tortoise beat the hare according to Aesop but at this time I would like to at least keep pace with the tortoise. 

Long term goal is to write a million words. What?! It could happen. Star Crossed is what I will finish first. I’m determined to do that. Not a Paranormal is next then I’ll go from there.

If anyone is wondering about Moonfire let me tell you now it’s still in the works. I’ve put it aside til I get the experience to write it. That’s what writing all these short stories are about; they’re to help me get the experience to write the story I want to. Thoughts pop in my head about it all the time. I make the notes for future reference.

One last thing is about my short story Rat Race. I mentioned sometime ago it was filmed. The edits are done turning it into a very short four-minute film that has turned out quite cute. I have been given permission to upload it on the blog. If I can figure out how to do it that is. Stay tuned.

That’s enough about me. What about your goals? What are they? Do you have a set time limit to reach them? My focus is split by too many stories. How about you? Do you have more than one story you’re working on? Is is hard for you to focus? Are you easily distracted? Does anyone know about the Goth culture? You know language, beliefs, etc?

Peace.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane J Mills
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 08:13:45

    I have the same problem with my eyes. There are days I can’t focus on anything, let alone the computer. I ease the tiredness with saline solution.

    Glad your writing corner is coming together. The desk sounds beautiful. Start writing for 10 minutes. Then repeat. I get started that way when I don’t feel like writing. An hour flies by once I get going. Eventually your muse will come out to play as soon as you sit at the desk. 🙂

    I am finishing the second novelette in my new series this week, and planning the third. I did my last readthrough of the first, and now ready to format it for Smashwords. I hope to add the first scene or two from the second at the end of the first, as incentive for readers to get the next story.

    Good luck with completing your short stories.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: To Publish…Or Not | SueSantore: About Books, Writing, and More

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.