Get off, get off, get off. GET OFF!

Last night I had all the lights turned off watching tv. It’s around 2:00 a.m. Rex was at my feet, Bellie Amie snuggled on one side and Jazper crouched on the other.  We were watching a classic horror movie, Silver Bullet, with Corey Haim, Megan Follows, Gary Busey and Everett McGill (no relation). I was enjoying myself and relaxed after a spurt of cleaning.

***Possible Spoiler Alert!***

It was close to the finale. You know where Gary Busey is telling the kids to go to bed? They’re protesting, he’s saying I’ll wait up but you guys are going to bed. Just at that moment I felt something tickle my leg. I waggled it back and forth thinking it was a cat passing under.

But instead of going away, something crawled up my leg; I looked down and saw a huge silhouette skitter across my leg.

AHHHHHHHHHHHH! Ahh! Ahhh! AHHHHHHHHHH!

Screaming and shaking my leg accompanied by the “Get Off!” refrain I jumped up. It’s nice to know I can still dance.

Can you see it?  The culprit seems to be a wolf spider. You can’t tell from the photo but the sucker was so big I couldn’t use a regular jar to catch it. I had to use a vase.

I woke Tracey up with my screams. She couldn’t see it at first; it had to move away from my flailing limbs as I danced around it before she could. When she does see it, the darling child (not) proclaims it’s all mine. To her credit, she did suggest the vase.

In the mean time Jazper, along with the rest of the cats, has disappeared. Rex, the coward, ran all the way to another room to stand near the backdoor and watch my groovy moves in amazement. Belle Amie, sweetie that she is, just watches the whole thing with interest.

Once caught, the spider wasn’t to happy. I didn’t care; it was lucky I had the vase and didn’t have to squish it. The whole incident inspired Rex to go outside. While he was busy doing that we took the spider and dumped it near the woods. Where, I’m sure, it will terrorize all the other spiders and insects in the vicinity.

Music that’s perfect for this post:

 

Don’t forget I have a guest post on Sue Santore’s blog today.

Peace.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shellie Sakai
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 13:30:08

    Love it! I can imagine you dancing around with your arms in the air! Love the theme music too…. >:)

    No wonder you give me a hard time about my spider.

    And yes, I would have been right there dancing along side you screaming “kill it! kill it!” I don’t do catch and release on spiders…. LOL!

    Reply

  2. Angela/Curiocat
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 02:17:30

    Roflm. Shellie, I can just see the two of us dancing around now. The cats and the dogs would probably never recover from the sight. Lol.

    Yeah your piddly spider is cute and small compared to the monsters we grow around here. Trust me I thought about squishing it for scaring the crap out of me and giving me the creepy crawlies.

    What saved it is the thought of having to clean the guts up afterwards. Ewww! We would have needed hazmat in here. Easier just to catch and toss. As it were.

    Reply

  3. ekcarmel
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 08:12:25

    I’m no fan of spiders, either. Hate the little suckers and kill them when I find them in the house. Then I get the lecture from my husband about how beneficial they are. However, I wouldn’t want to clean up after something that size, either. Particularly if it’s on a carpet. Ewwww.

    Awesome guest post, btw!

    Reply

  4. Angela/Curiocat
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 15:20:14

    I give myself the same lecture your husband gives you when I’m tempted to just squish instead of remove. It works most of the time. Lol.

    Thanks. I enjoyed writing the post and thrilled to be asked to do it. It was good to see you there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.