Making Magic with Adobe Photoshop

I really do have awesome daughters. They bought me an online course to take for my birthday this year from Randolph Community College. I had the option of which photography class I wanted to take and decided I wanted to start with the photoshop class because I have a lot of photos that could use some help.

Besides I’ve had Adobe Photoshop Elements 9 for nearly a year now and decided it’s time I learned how to use it. Taking the class is the best way to go about doing that.

The classes are on Wednesdays and Fridays until the end of December. As of now I’ve had two whole lessons. So far so good.

I’ve decided I want to share what I’m learning, if I can, each week. So this week there was the introduction to Photoshop. We learned where things were and how to arrange things to suit ourselves.

Lesson Two introduced some of the tools. The first two were tools I have used with the dinky Adobe Photoshop I’ve had for years, the crop and auto fix. It allows you to cut parts of the image out that you don’t like. The image being used is one provided by the instructor.

 Let’s talk about the auto fix first. The original photo is dark and the image is not clear.                                                                             

 

 

 

 I corrected the picture using the auto fix manually. Meaning instead of just clicking on auto fix I used a scroll button to decide how much fixing I wanted. The image is clearer and lighter. 

 

 

  

 The cropping tool is important. Here you can see there’s no real focus in the photo, it’s not very good. Cropping makes the difference as to whether your image is crap or glorious.  

 

 

   

 Not glorious but a nicer composition.

 

 

 

 

  

 Meh.

 

 

 

 

 

 Better.

 

 

 

 

 

 I liked this but it wasn’t quite what I wanted. 

 

 

 

 

 

 Yes! It almost has a 3D quality to it.

 

 

 

 

 The cropped pictures are different pictures from the original, aren’t they? It has occurred to me that cropping a photo is a good deal like editing a story or book. What you start out with doesn’t necessarily mean it will resemble the final product.  If for no other reason than curiosity, we owe it to ourselves to complete our stories or projects just to see how it ends.

 

 The next thing we learned about is the straighten tool. It does exactly that, it straightens. I wish I’d know about this years ago.

 

 

 

  

 It’s magic. Lol. Cool, isn’t it? 

 

 

 

 

Do you use photoshop? Did you teach yourself or did you have some help? What do you use photoshop for? Business, pleasure or both?

Magic Music:

Peace.

 

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane J Mills
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 03:26:26

    What fun! Loved the details of what you learned.

    I only have Photoshop Elements 2 to play around with. That is why I also use GIMP for the things Photoshop doesn’t have.

    Reply

  2. Linda Adams
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 06:31:16

    I’ve worked with Photoshop — learned myself and from a book that gave examples of how to use layers to recreate a lot of what we see in advertising photos. It’s a very powerful tool!

    Reply

  3. Angela/Curiocat
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 02:58:23

    Yes, it is. I can’t wait to learn everything I can. What book did you use?

    Thanks for coming by.

    Reply

  4. ekcarmel
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 17:36:14

    Very interesting. I’ve never used Photoshop, but really should buy it one of these days. It does so much cool stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.