Good Bye 2011

Its been fun but it’s time to look forward to fresh experiences, reach for more goals and meet new challenges.

Year End Wrap-up

My photos of the gender reveal party weren’t all that great. What a coinkydink, I just took a new Photoshop Elements course and I’ve been working on them this last week. I should have them up by this Monday or Tuesday at the latest. I didn’t use a flash and didn’t stop to check what was happening and they were a little dark and off in color. The lighting really was awful in that room.

Everyone was either looked like a zombie or had huge shadows around their eyes.  Not a problem but it’s taking a bit of time to fix them. Yeah, I’m enjoying myself. 🙂 Otherwise, we had fun at the party and I can’t wait to share.

Let’s see, what else? Oh, yeah. I revised To Touch a Unicorn one last time (I swear!) and submitted it to a magazine a couple of days before Christmas. I’m still cringing over it but I promised a friend I would and I did. Wish me luck! Also, I started the sequel to the short story called Whispers of the Unicorns.

Hmmn. I finished up the Photoshop Elements course just after Christmas. I am not doing that again. What was I thinking to start a class just before the holidays? I ended up with a 94 on the final exam that I’m extremely happy with. The funny thing is I did great on the hard stuff and missed two simple questions. One question I still think was subjective but I’m not quibbling cause I got the hard stuff.

The last couple of lessons had some really cool stuff like denuding tigers and making polar bears disappear. It was a lot of fun but I felt so sorry for the poor tiger I gave his stripes back.  I gotta work on that technique anyway.

No goals were really set for this year.  I ended up 2010 sick and started 2011 sick.  January 2nd has not been good to us these past two years.  Resolutions were forgotten or not started because of that and Paul lost first his sister and then his uncle on January 2nd of 2010 and 2011. This year I am going to believe that January 2012 will be a month to remember for good things not sad.

But I can say that it has been a good year in spite of its rockiness and sad times. I went to my first con and met Terry Bane there. It took us over six months to hook up again but it’s been a pleasure to get to know her. Terry and her husband are role-playing gamers. Glenn actually designs his own games. They invited Tracey to play his new game and Terry told her she will be credited for that. She plans to join another session with them early in January.

Health wise I finally managed to kick the virus that hung of for so long to the curb.  All I gotta say is Sage tea is awesome, if you’re congested it’s the way to go. Green tea is a great substitute or addition.

Even though I signed up for the worst possible time of year I still loved the Photoshop Elements class. Fun, fun, fun. I learned lots and I want to take the second class if I can.

The best of this year was when we found out Holly is expecting. The second best was when we got to see the first sonogram of The Peanut. Nothing can beat that. Holly’s belly is rounding nicely.

2012 Happenings

Well, we have almost a year before the world supposedly ends and it looks busy.  I expect it to be so busy I won’t even notice when it does end: pretty much like when it ended on May 22 and October 22 of 2011. Sniff, sniff. Smell that? It was sarcasm. Lol.

Rex, my four-legged grandson, will be staying with me for about two weeks in January.

In February I’ll be going to Maryland to tour the hospital with Holly and John since I’m the back up coach. That should be fun, I hope there will be some babies in the nursery I can ooh and ahh over.

March 31 will be Holly’s baby shower. I’m working on the invites now. All I can say is I need luck on that one, too. I have some ideas on center pieces and the theme will be a nature one with frogs being prominent. Holly does love her frogs.

April 30 is when The Peanut is expected to arrive. I will be in Maryland trying to help. Holly already knows I’m a terrible nurse but she forgives me and wants me there anyway.  🙂 Yay! It looks like I will be in Maryland when May arrives, too.

Well that takes up five months of the year. Good lord! Where did 2012 go? It went by pretty darn fast. Paul, Tracey and everyone else will not remember who I am before it’s all over. However, there’s more.

I really would like to take another online course such as Photoshop Elements II.

There are still short stories to complete and start.

Stormy, the rabbit, has advised me he wants me to set a goal of letting him out of his hutch every day. I have advised him I will try to let him out more often but not every day.

Stellarcon is in March, I think, and I want to go if I can.

The HTTS and HTRYN courses are updated and changing and I need to catch up with those changes.

By year-end I want to be able to walk up my stairs ten times and down my stairs ten times at least 3 times a week as a way to get fit. I have new ones so they can take it.

Organization is not my strong point but I will work on getting my books a bit more organized than they are now.

The fish found out about Stormy’s request and have put in their own: they want more treats and water changed more often. I have advised the treats are doable, the water negotiable.

This is the year of brown rice. I’m making more of it and vegetables. Paul’s blood sugar has been up and down all year, we need to do better.

Blogs will continue to be works in progress. My thought is to have  Friday Photos, continue the About Writing on Wednesdays when I have something to share and Mondays are reserved to be about what ever strikes my fancy. I’ll be around on at least one of those days. If it’s a good week then all of them.

All in all I expect this will be….

A Happy New Year!

Did you notice no real goals? Just things I want to work on and improve. I think I can, I think I can. How about you, any goals? What’s been good or bad in 2011? What are you looking forward to in 2012?

I haven’t heard this song in sooo long but I heard it New Year’s Eve while I was out shopping so I decided to share. I always liked Lionel Richie. You know he’s still pretty awesome. Enjoy.

Peace.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane J Cornwelld
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 03:31:39

    Busy times ahead for both of us. I read a book today, and realised I need to make more time available to read this year. Yes read. 🙂 Now there are so many new authors publishing ebooks, I look forward to reading more. And still writing. And … painting, drawing, plotting, resting, gardening, cooking, etc.

    Happy New Year to all your family. 🙂

    Reply

  2. curiocat
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 04:49:03

    Thanks and Happy New Year to you and yours, as well.

    Reply

  3. ekcarmel
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 07:20:12

    I’m soooo with you on not making resolutions. I don’t like self-imposed guilt.

    It sounds like a busy year for you, me, and everyone else I know, too. Craziness ahead!

    Good luck and best wishes for a healthy and safe 2012 for you and your family!

    Reply

  4. Texanne
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 21:49:33

    Wow. Everybody is glad to see the back-end of 2011, I think. I’m so excited for you over Peanut. Is this your first grandchild? It’s not fun to know what your little girl is going through, but all you can do is to support her and help her out as much as possible. And snuggle that baby!

    HTTS & HTRYN–since I retired as moderator I’ve not been there as much as I used to be. The place sure has changed! And I got an email (part of a blast) from Holly Lisle that said she was almost finished with Lesson 13, and my reaction was what? I still don’t know what that’s about.

    I’ll raise a glass of ginger ale to the increase of health and vigor for you and your family–and don’t cringe when you send out your stories! Stand tall. Hey, it’s good for your respiration. 😆

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.