Friday’s Photos: The Diaper Cake

Hey. Let’s get started on this cake.

 

Ingredients:

 

In case you’re wondering, yes that is a pizza pan.

 

Making the cake:

I tied a slip knot in a string of yarn to hold the diapers in place as I added more of them. This was a three layer cake.

 

Decorations:

Once all the layers were in place I added some ribbon using a glue gun to hold it together then added some froggy toys.

 

This of course is not a froggy toy but a rose.

 

A froggy rattle.

 

Tracey donated these frog socks to the cause.

 

I saw the mommy and baby frogs on my way out of Wal-Mart. Β In an instant my cake design focused and changed.

 

First try:

I didn’t like this but couldn’t figure out why. I was trying to give the feeling of the frogs being in a pond.

 

Final look:

About two o’clock in the morning I figured it out what was bothering me. I started pulling the leaves and stuff apart, praying I wasn’t making a mistake.

Here is the final result:

 

Peace.

 

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Callene Rapp
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 21:17:54

    OMG, that is the cutest thing! How creative!

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 21:27:02

    It was so cute…I didn’t want to take it apart, but I did because I wanted the sparkling grape juice πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • curiocat
      Apr 18, 2012 @ 17:43:20

      I’m whining here, Holly. Couldn’t you have just bought some sparkling grape juice? Besides I have it on good authority you prefer chocolate wine. πŸ˜‰

      Although as we now know it wouldn’t have made a difference cause those diapers were going to be needed soon than we realized. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. torijohnson5
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 22:44:52

    Great idea with the sparkling cider in the center!

    Reply

  4. auntie k
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 16:37:05

    love this diaper cake! No one knows how much diapers are until they have to purchase it! Diaper cakes are great gifts.

    Reply

    • curiocat
      Apr 18, 2012 @ 17:48:21

      Thanks for visiting. Diapers aren’t usually very exciting gifts but their value becomes apparent when you have to buy them each week! Diaper cakes are a great way to enliven a party and give the new parents a break on their grocery bill. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. Abbys Diaper Cake
    May 22, 2012 @ 13:34:55

    Really cute diaper cake! I like the bottle idea on the middle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.