Fat Tuesday: Let’s Try This Again

I made it through to the seventh day. Wednesday I fought off the cravings for something sweet all day. Thursday was actually a pretty good day. Friday I braced myself for the worst because I went grocery shopping. To keep from buying inappropriate ‘junk’ foods for a quick fix I made sure I ate a decent meal before I went into the combat zone.

Do you realize how grocery stores, drug stores, dollar stores, retail stores and convenience stores are set up? If you have the slightest pang of hunger, a niggle for something to munch, the slightest weakening of will they have made it easy for temptation to overcome your better judgement.

From the minute you walk in the store you are surrounded by displays of snacks of all sizes, shapes and tastes. Even the bakery is right there beside the produce section. Before you can leave the store you have to stand in line with candy and other munchies within reaching distance. I felt like whimpering the entire time. The odds are really stacked against anyone succeeding for long on a diet. But I was strong and made it through the several hours it took me to shop.

I taped The Five and watched it when I came home. I couldn’t believe it. Even they were conspiring against me with Bob Beckel munching on a plate of donuts in defiance of Mayor Bloomberg in N.Y. Honestly Bob? Take it from me, you’re just cutting your nose off to spite your face. Bloomberg really doesn’t care.

Fortunately, Bob didn’t tempt me with his donuts. Then Saturday came. It was a rough day for a lot of reasons. We’ll just leave it at that. I went through all the recommended diversions. I gave it about two hours before caving. I really wanted to run to the store for some chocolate but I did manage to resist that particular urge.

I made some peanut butter junkie instead. Does it make a difference if I said the sugar is a natural pure cane sugar and not the white kind? Or the peanut butter is Skippy Natural Super Chunk? That I used Brummel and Brown’s yogurt butter and pure vanilla? Probably not, but I did try to keep the damage to a minimum.

As of today, once again, I’m at two days with no sugar. It’s not been too hard this time. For one, the peanut butter junkie wasn’t all that great, it just didn’t taste good this time for whatever reason. Sunday was a good day in spite of my slip up and I got a lot done.  For two I woke up sick on Monday and I’m still not doing that great so no cravings except for sleep.

Now the good news. I lost five pounds anyway as of today. Yay! Part of it is probably water weight but I’ll take it. The urge to weigh myself again has been with me all day but so far I’ve resisted that, too.

Excuse for last week’s screw up: I wanted comfort food.

In my refrigerator now: 2% low-fat milk, yellow squash, strawberries, oranges, apricots, apples, 2% low-fat cheese, salad, salad dressing, condiments, low sugar grape jelly, cream cheese, lemonade, Brummel & Brown yogurt butter, all natural eggs, Yoplait light yogurts of different varieties, 4% low-fat cottage cheese, a loaf of sourdough bread, bread sticks, turkey meat for meat loaf, lemon juice, tomatoes, celery, a cucumber, sparkling grape juice, oj, shredded cheddar cheese, left over broccoli casserole, lizard food(including grasshoppers and mill worms) and carrots. I think that’s it.

This week’s reason for getting in better shape: Not being able to close my mouth is a stupid reason to die too soon.

Goal for this coming week: It’s going to be a challenge but again it’s to stay off the sugary things like candy bars, cakes, etc., because I am travelling to Maryland this week. Travel is another excuse I have for eating things bad for me. Also, I planned to exercise some this week but got foiled with being sick. I’ll see what I can do in Maryland.

So what have you been tempted with lately? How’s your will power? Do you have any weekly goals? What do you think of Bob Beckel? Be nice, lol.

Peace.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Holly
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 21:03:36

    I have been tempted by the evil brownie monster and he won. My excuse was that I was frustrated with the dentist office’s billing department not wanting to do their damn job. I needed comfort food. Bad Holly!

    Reply

  2. Shellie Sakai
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 14:47:35

    Good for you for only caving once! I caved last night and had two mini-sized chocolate bars. Bad me! 😦 To stop my sugar cravings I eat fruit. Any and all kinds with nothing on it. Just naked fruit. Hope things get better, take care.

    Reply

    • curiocat
      Jun 12, 2012 @ 00:06:33

      Mmnn. Chocolate. I’m trying to get rid of that image in my head. 😉

      I try to eat the fruit, too. Sometimes it just isn’t enough but as time goes on I get better about it.

      Reply

  3. D J Mills
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 00:49:54

    Well done! 🙂
    Love the list of food in your refrigerator. Good to see you have fruit, a good substitute for sugar.

    Reply

  4. E.K. Carmel
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 12:09:51

    Good for you, Angela! I have a sugar addiction, too, and have to watch it or I can go off the deep end. I really have to fight myself from Halloween through Valentines! I second (or is that third?) the fruit recommendation as a substitute. It helps me get through the cravings.

    BTW, for some reason I’ve stopped getting your email updates, but I’m pretty sure it’s on my end because I changed some settings. I’m looking into it, but wanted you to know I wasn’t ignoring you!

    Reply

  5. Sue
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 09:04:45

    Believe or not, eating fat does not make you fat. There is plenty of research out there to support that idea. However, sugar is real poison to the body, in addition to it being addictive!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Curio’s Past, Shhh.